The SSA are pleased to announce the launch of the year’s awards after a hiatus.


Competition timeline*

Call for entries Monday 17th April 2023
Deadline for entries 5pm on Friday 19th May 2023
Shortlist announced End of May 2023
Site visits & judging process June 2023
Awards event end of June 2023
* all dates may be subject to change  


Award judges

Chris Stewart B Arch (Hons), Dip Arch, PRIAS, ARB, RIBA, RIAS PRESIDENT
Lesley Palmer BSc (Hons), MSc, RIBA, RIAS
Janice Foster BEng (Hons), MSc Arch, CEng, MCIBSE


Award categories

Award Sponsor
Best extension or retrofit TBC
Conservation award CUPA Pizarras
Sustainability award IndiNature
Best use of wood Russwood
SSA architect with project outwith chapter TBC
Overall chapter winner TBC


General entry criteria
  • projects entries must be located within the ssa chapter boundary.**
  • projects must have been overseen by an arb registered architect.
  • projects must have been completed between 01.04.2021 and 01.04.2023.
  • entry for the Stirling Society of Architects awards is free.

Shortlisted entries will be visited in person – judges will require full access on a date to be confirmed.

Shortlisted entrants will also be required to produce a banner of their project for exhibition and promotional purposes – details will follow for those selected, but printing costs for this will be covered by the SSA.

The judges’ decision is final. No direct communication with the judges is permitted.

**exception is the project outwith chapter award

Submission criteria

  • project entries consist of 3 parts:
  1. The completed project form word document (Click Here to download)
  2. A maximum of 4 drawings that best describe your project – saved in pdf format with a total combined max file size of 5 Mb.
  3. A maximum of 5 photographs that best display your project – saved in jpg format with a max file size of 3 Mb per photograph.

The completed submission must not exceed 22 Mb total and should be emailed to:

Pin It on Pinterest